The upcoming holidays that salon owners need to have firmly in their calendar are below, with a state-by-state breakdown.

New South Wales
In New South Wales, all four Easter days treated as public holidays.
Trading restrictions are in place on Good Friday and Easter Sunday, which means non-exempt businesses are unable to open.


In Victoria, Good Friday is a restricted trading day, which means only exempt businesses can open.

Exempt shops are those with 20 or fewer staff members employed in their shop, or 100 or fewer people employed across the entire business.


Queensland observes all four days across the Easter period as public holidays: Good Friday, and Easter Saturday, Sunday and Monday.

Trading hours are only restricted for some businesses on Good Friday, however, there are a range of exempt businesses which are listed on this state government website.

Salons must close on Good Friday. They can then trade without restrictions during the rest of the Easter period.

Western Australia

In Western Australia, small retail shops are exempt from most retail trading restrictions over Easter, and a small retail shop is defined as being “owned by up to six people who operate no more than four retail shops, in which up to 25 people work at any one time”.

South Australia

South Australia has a comprehensive set of retail trading rules that determine which businesses can trade and when.

The rules are based on location, the size of the shops and retail category, and there is a lengthy list of exempt retailers.

To make understanding the rules easier, SafeWork South Australia has a list of the guidelines here.


Small retailers are able to trade without restrictions in Tasmania over Easter.

Good Friday and Easter Monday are public holidays, as well as the Tuesday after Easter Monday, which this year falls on April 6.

However, the Tuesday public holiday is generally only observed by the public service.

Northern Territory

The Northern Territory observes Good Friday, Easter Saturday and Easter Monday as public holidays. However, Easter Sunday is not considered a public holiday.

There are currently no trading restrictions in place over the Easter period.

Australian Capital Territory

All four days, from Good Friday to Easter Monday, are public holidays in the Australian Capital Territory.

There are currently no trading restrictions in place for the Easter period, regardless of business size.

Penalty rates

For retailers and other businesses that do trade over the Easter public holidays, it is important to remember penalty rates apply.

Check out the Fair Work Ombudsman’s pay calculator if you need help determining staff entitlements during the Easter period.

For more news and updates, subscribe to our weekly newsletter