Hair Expo Awards – Finalists Announced

The hairdressing royalty of Australia and New Zealand came together for a cocktail reception to discover and celebrate the finalists for the coveted 2012 Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards. Finalists were announced during a fashionable cocktail reception in one of the repurposed train bays of Australian Technology Park, Eveleigh. Now in their 27th year, the awards represent one of the highest accolades within the industry and honour the best creative and business talent in the region.

Sharon Blain

More than 250 of the hair industry’s most influential personalities browsed the breathtaking photographic collections in Hair Expo’s purpose built gallery before the announcement of the finalists in the 2012 awards.

As the longest running and most respected hair awards in the Southern Hemisphere, the awards at Hair Expo have always attracted the cream of Australia and New Zealand’s hairdressing crop. They set the industry standard in both countries and help to promote the outstanding achievements of the region locally and to the rest of the world.

A 20-strong panel of independent industry experts from both Australia and New Zealand spent two full days scrutinising almost 200 entries to reach the finalist selection.

After one of the largest number of submissions in years, ten finalists were chosen to run for the top prize of Australian Hairdresser of the Year:
• Frank Apostolopoulos from Biba, Fitzroy, VIC
• Emiliano Vitale from é Salon, Wahroongah, NSW
• Craig Smith from Fruition, Brisbane, QLD
• Damien Rinaldo from Hair Machine, Norwood, SA
• Caterina DiBiase from Heading Out Hair & Beauty, Fitzroy, VIC
• Joey Scandizzo from Joey Scandizzo Salon, South Yarra, VIC
• Tracey Hughes from Mieka Hairdressing, Collingwood, VIC
• Phillip Barwick from Muse Hairdressing, Surry Hills, NSW
• Robert Bava from Parlour Hair, Adelaide, SA
• Sharon Blain from The Art of Hair, Beecroft, NSW

Joey Scandizzo and Marie Uva

Australian Hairdresser of the Year is the most coveted of the awards at Hair Expo, representing the pinnacle of the Australian hairdressing industry. When judging this category, the decision is based on both the entrant’s photographic collection and an in depth submission that outlines factors such as their integrity, peer recognition, entrepreneurial success, education and contribution to the advancement of the industry.

Finalists in other categories include reigning New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year, Sara Allsop, and Colour Technician of the Year, Matt Clements, both up for their awards again this year. Industry icon Sharon Blain is up for both Australian Hairdresser of the Year and her current title of Educator of the Year. Some of the young stars to watch include Jules Tognini and Lisa Muscat, who were named finalists in the New Creative Force category.

Other awards up for grabs are Best Photographic Collection, Apprentice / Student of the Year, Salon Team of the Year and Session Stylist as well Salon Design, Excellence in Marketing, Business Performance and Educator and Educational Organisation of the Year.

Winners in the 2012 Schwarzkopf Professional Hair Expo Awards will be announced at a gala extravaganza on Monday June 11, 2012  unquestionably the hairdressing industry’s night of nights. The grand finale of the annual Hair Expo weekend is the culmination of three days of unrivalled education and inspiration at the Sydney Convention & Exhibition Centre starting Saturday June 9, 2012.

The Finalist Collection will be on display at Salon Melbourne, 31 March – 1 April, at the Melbourne Convention & Exhibition Centre.

Leave a Reply

Back to top