The Makeup Artist Guild Asia Pacific (The MAGAP) has officially opened its nominations season for the MAGAP Awards 2020. 

Created by industry innovator, Melanie Burnicle, the MAGAP Awards was launched in 2018 and is the premier awards platform specifically designed for the makeup industry. This year, there will be 22 categories being awarded, including Editorial Makeup Artist of the Year, Vlogger of the Year, and Makeup Team of the Year. 

Of launching the Awards amid the pandemnic, Melanie Burnicle, Director and Founder of The MAGAP Awards says, “As with many awards platforms and gala events, we’ve had to adapt the way we run the program this year. We hope by turning the awards night into an online show and reducing the entry fees, we will show support and kindness to our industry and that we’ll be able to reach and recognise more of our industry professionals across Australia and continue to grow!” said Melanie. 

Entries are currently open via the MAGAP website, and will close on August 9. Finalists will be announced on September 14, and the online streaming of the Awards Night will be on October 17.

Previous winners of the coveted Makeup Artist of the Year category have included the likes of Sarah Laidlaw and Shella Martin. The 2020 judging panel will once again consist of a curated mix of international and local artists and industry professionals who will individually judge the entries.

Visit the #BEAUTYSTRONG hub at

For more news and updates, subscribe to our weekly newsletter.